Call for entries for $8,000 maritime history prizes 

Writers and publishers of maritime history are invited to nominate works for two biennial maritime history prizes totalling $8,000, sponsored jointly by the Australian Association for Maritime History (AAMH) and the Australian National Maritime Museum (ANMM). Nominations close on 30 April 2021.

The 2021 Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize of $6,000

Will be awarded for a non-fiction book treating any aspect of maritime history relating to or affecting Australia, written or co-authored by an Australian citizen or permanent resident, and published between 1 January 2019 and 30 December 2020. The book should be published in Australia, although titles written by Australian authors but published overseas may be considered at the discretion of the judges.

The prize is open to Australian authors or co-authors of a book-length monograph or compilation of their own works.

Fictional works, edited collections of essays by multiple contributors, second editions and translations of another writer’s work are not eligible.

This will be the 11th joint prize for a maritime history book awarded by the two organisations.


Mariners are Warned by Marsden Hordern, (Melbourne University Press, 1989)


Sand in our Souls: the Beach in Australian History, by Dr Leone Huntsman (Melbourne University Press, 2001)


Encountering Terra Australis: the Australian Voyages of Nicolas Baudin and Matthew Flinders, by Jean Fornasiero, Peter Monteath and John West-Sooby (Wakefield Press, Kent Town SA, 2004)


François Péron – An Impetuous Life: Naturalist and Voyager, by Dr Edward Duyker OAM (Miegunyah Press, 2006)


Captain Cook: Voyager Between Worlds, John Gascoigne (Hambledon Continuum, London, 2007)


Darwin’s Armada – How Four voyagers to Australasia Won the Battle for Evolution and Changed the World by Iain McCalman (Penguin Australia, 2009)


Saltwater People, by John Ogden (Cyclops Press, Avalon, NSW, 2011)


In All Respects Ready: Australia’s Navy in World War One by David Stevens (Oxford University Press, 2014)

Across the Seas: Australia's response to refugees by Klaus Neumann (Black Inc, 2015)

Mutiny, Mayhem, Mythology: Bounty’s Enigmatic Voyage by Alan Frost (Sydney University Press)


The 2021 Australian Community Maritime History Prize of $2,000

Will be awarded to a regional or local museum or historical society for a publication (book, booklet, educational resource kit or other media) relating to an aspect of maritime history of that region or community, and published between 1 January 2019 and 30 December 2020.

This will be the fifth joint prize for a community history work awarded by the two organisations.

Both prizes reflect the wish of the two sponsoring organisations to promote a broad view of maritime history that demonstrates how the sea and maritime influences have been more central to the shaping of Australia, its people and its culture than has commonly been believed.


The Lady Denman Heritage Complex, Huskisson, for Shipping and Shipwrecks – Stories from Jervis Bay and its Neighbouring Coasts by Peter Crabb (2010)


Mornington Peninsula Art Gallery for Sea of Dreams: The lure of Port Phillip Bay 1830–1914 (2011)


No prize awarded

The Western Australian Museum for Yurlmun: Mokare Mia Boodja (Returning to Mokare's Home Country (2016)

The Naval Historical Society of Australia for its website,


How to nominate

To nominate for the Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize, send an entry form and three photocopies of the following materials to the address below:

  • dust jacket or cover
  • blurb
  • title page
  • imprint page
  • contents page
  • a page showing the ISBN
  • one or two representative chapters of the publication, including examples of illustrative materials
  • copies of any published reviews may also be included

A printed copy of the published work may also be included but MAY NOT substitute for the requested photocopies. 

Download Frank Broeze entry form


To nominate for the 2021 Australian Community Maritime History Prize, send an entry form and a physical copy of print publications or DVDs. For digital publications such as websites, databases, online exhibitions or apps, nominations must include 250–300 words explaining the vision and objectives of the digital media, plus data indicating its success. For websites and databases, also provide the URL or download details; for an app or other digital media, submit it on a USB. Copies of any published reviews may also be included.

Download Australian Community entry form


Nominations close on 30 April 2021.

Following an initial assessment of nominations, shortlisted authors or publishers will be invited to submit three copies of their publication. These will be judged by a committee consisting of three prominent judges from the maritime community. The prize will be announced and awarded at a time and venue to be advised..

The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Nominations should be sent to:
Janine Flew
Publications officer
Australian National Maritime Museum
2 Murray Street
Pyrmont NSW 2009
Phone 02 9298 3779 

Any queries should be directed to