Nominations are now closed.

The Australian National Maritime Museum, with the Australian Association for Maritime History (AAMH), jointly sponsors two maritime history prizes every two years. Both prizes promote a broad view of maritime history that demonstrates how the sea and maritime influences have been central to shaping Australia, its people and its culture.

The major prize is named in honour of the late Professor Frank Broeze (1945–2001) of the University of Western Australia, who has been called the pre-eminent maritime historian of his generation. Professor Broeze was a founding member of the Australian Association for Maritime History, inaugural editor of its scholarly journal The Great Circle, and introduced Australia’s first university course on maritime history. He was the author of many works on Australian maritime history, including the landmark Island Nation (1997), helping to redefine the field in broader terms than ships, sailors and sea power. He reached into economic, business, social and urban histories to make maritime history truly multidisciplinary.

The 2019 Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize of $5,000

To be awarded for a non-fiction book treating any aspect of maritime history relating to or affecting Australia, written or co-authored by an Australian citizen or permanent resident, and published between 1 January 2017 and 31 December 2018. The book should be published in Australia, although titles written by Australian authors but published overseas may be considered at the discretion of the judges. The prize is open to Australian authors or co-authors of a book-length monograph or compilation of their own works.

Fictional works, edited collections of essays by multiple contributors, second editions and translations of another writer’s work are not eligible.


Mariners are Warned by Marsden Hordern, (Melbourne University Press, 1989)


Sand in our Souls: the Beach in Australian History, by Dr Leone Huntsman (Melbourne University Press, 2001)


Encountering Terra Australis: the Australian Voyages of Nicolas Baudin and Matthew Flinders, by Jean Fornasiero, Peter Monteath and John West-Sooby (Wakefield Press, Kent Town SA, 2004)


François Péron – An Impetuous Life: Naturalist and Voyager, by Dr Edward Duyker OAM (Miegunyah Press, 2006)


Captain Cook: Voyager Between Worlds, John Gascoigne (Hambledon Continuum, London, 2007)


Darwin’s Armada – How Four voyagers to Australasia Won the Battle for Evolution and Changed the World by Iain McCalman (Penguin Australia, 2009)


Saltwater People, by John Ogden (Cyclops Press, Avalon, NSW, 2011)


In All Respects Ready: Australia’s Navy in World War One by David Stevens (Oxford University Press, 2014)

Across the Seas: Australia's response to refugees by Klaus Neumann (Black Inc, 2015)


The 2019 Australian Community Maritime History Prize of $2,000

To be awarded to a regional or local museum or historical society for a publication (book, booklet, educational resource kit, DVD or other print or digital media, including websites, databases and oral histories) relating to an aspect of maritime history of that region or community, and published between 1 January 2017 and 31 December 2018. The winner will also receive a year’s subscription to the Australian Association for Maritime History and a year’s subscription to the Australian National Maritime Museum’s journal Signals.

Publications by state-run organisations, physical exhibitions and periodicals such as journals are not eligible..


The Lady Denman Heritage Complex, Huskisson, for Shipping and Shipwrecks – Stories from Jervis Bay and its Neighbouring Coasts by Peter Crabb (2010)


Mornington Peninsula Art Gallery for Sea of Dreams: The lure of Port Phillip Bay 1830–1914 (2011)


No prize awarded

The Western Australian Museum for Yurlmun: Mokare Mia Boodja (Returning to Mokare's Home Country (2016)


How to nominate

To nominate for the Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize, send one copy of the publication to the address below. Copies of any published reviews may also be included. 

To nominate for the Australian Community Maritime History Prize, send a physical copy of print publications or DVDs.

For digital publications such as websites, databases, online exhibitions or apps, nominations must include 250–300 words explaining the vision and objectives of the digital media, plus data indicating its success. For websites and databases, also provide the URL or download details; for an app or other digital media, submit it on a USB. Copies of any published reviews may also be included.

Multiple nominations may be made, but each must be for one category only. 
Nominations close on 31 July 2019. They should be emailed or posted to:

Publications Officer
Australian National Maritime Museum
2 Murray Street Sydney NSW 2000
Phone: 02 9298 3779


Judging process

Following an initial assessment of nominations, shortlisted authors or publishers will be invited to submit a further two copies of their publication. These will be judged by a committee of three prominent judges from the maritime history community. 

The judges’ decision will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.  The prize will be announced and awarded at a time and venue to be advised.

Judging of the 2017 awards

We regret that the judging of the 2017 awards has been unavoidably delayed. It is currently under way, however, and an announcement will be made as soon as possible.